SiriusXM vs AM/FM

Happy Friday! This week has flown by for me. I hope the same for you!

Can we talk about the weather for a second? It has been beautiful, but holy moly it’s hot! This is how Oliver has spent his week:

Image

Yes, he’s high maintenance and yes, my dog has a pool and I do not. It’s a sad, sad life that I live. ;)

Luckily, Amelia invited me over on Wednesday to spend the afternoon by her pool. We’re trying to take full advantage of the amenities at her apartment before she moves out soon. On a normal pool day, I would pressure her to be out in the sun before noon and we would stay out until at least 4 or 5. She would slather on the sunscreen, I would douse myself in oil. A little sweat, but no sunburn in sight. This time, however, we were out for about 2 hours, both put sunscreen on and both had a little sunburn. We had to just throw in the towel because it was miserably hot!

I plan to spend all day tomorrow outside, I’m preparing myself now by hiding inside all day today…

********************************

Recently, I’ve been listening to the satellite radio in my car instead of regular FM radio and I’m really enjoying it. I got tired of hearing the exact same songs over and over again. One day last week I switched between 3 FM stations and the same song was playing on ALL THREE! That drives me nuts. So, anyway, I had a conversation yesterday about how some songs haven’t made the jump from satellite to FM, or vise versa. It’s nice to have so many more options than only what Bobby Novasad wants us to listen to. I’ve found a few songs (new and old) that I really love and I’d like to share those with you. You may or may not have heard of some of these:

Only Love – Ben Howard

This is just an easy song to listen to while driving.

La La – The Cab

If you’ve recently passed me on the road and I was singing and dancing like a maniac, this is what I was listening to. Well, this or Call Me Maybe…

Home – Phillip Phillips

Remember him? This is the song that he sang on the finale of American Idol. It sounds a lot like Mumford and Sons, but better!

Wide Awake – Katy Perry

Alright, I know this plays on regular radio, but I heard it first on XM. I love it cause it’s not so “pop-y.” I don’t see her wearing a cupcake bra while singing this song.

The A Team – Ed Sheeran

Again, just something easy to listen to.

Wanted – Hunter Hayes

LOVE THIS SONG. Local boy all grown up! When I was younger, my parents would go camping almost every weekend and Hunter would play at one of the camp grounds that we would go to often. At this time he was just a toddler swinging an accordion and singing along with the songs. He’s come a long way since his days at Bayou Wilderness…

Where’s the Love – Hanson

Thought MmmBop was their only claim to fame? Not so much! I LOVED this song back in the day. When it came on my radio the other day, it was like I was back in 1997. I shocked myself by knowing every word!

I feel like I’m uncovering a gem every time I hear a song I’ve never heard before. I love it!

Well, Oliver and I wish y’all a safe and happy weekend!

K

Leave a Reply

