Music Tuesday: John Mayer – Born and Raised

“Extraordinary” is the only word I can use to describe this album.

I have been a huge John Mayer fan since high school when I saw him in concert in New Orleans. He had just released his second album, Heavier Things, and the only song that I knew of by him was the song that was on the radio called, “No Such Thing” from his first album. Now granted, I didn’t KNOW the song, I just knew OF it. I was the girl pretending I knew the words: “I wanna, *mumble* high school, I wanna *mumble” at the top of my lungs!”

One of my friends had a relative that worked at a local radio station and she brought a burned copy (shh!) of some of his music to school for me. She told me that her uncle thought that this guy was gonna be pretty popular someday and that he wanted her to promote him to her other teenage girlfriends. I fell in love. It wasn’t long after that when we discovered that he would be headlining a concert in New Orleans and a little unknown band called Maroon 5 would be opening for him. My parents loaded the car and brought 4 of us to see the concert.

At this point in my life, I had never heard REAL music from a person of my generation. A concert with instruments, no dancers, no smoke and mirrors. It changed my perspective of music. I’ve seen him 3 times since.

Born and Raised was released last week after years of waiting for new music from John Mayer. After all of his public drama in the last few years, I was interested to see which direction this album would take. It does not disappoint. Just check it out, I promise you’ll love it!

http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/born-and-raised/id516701586?uo=4

Well, I’m off to get my sweat on. Turbofire or an outdoor run? Which would you prefer?

K

ps My favorite track is “Age of Worry,” be sure to let me know yours!

Leave a Reply

