Early Bird

Yesterday, my bestie, Amelia and I were joking around about how I am such an “old lady.” Now this is a conversation that we’ve had time and time again and I will never deny it. I like routines. On a perfect day  I’m up early in the morning before everyone else and in bed around 9, sleeping by 10. I take vitamins. Ideally, I’d eat dinner at 5:30-6 with a little sweetness to follow. I use eye cream. I try not to have white starches at all, but definitely not for dinner. I workout even when I really don’t want to. I like to read with classical music in the background. Matching pajama sets make me happy. I make my bed every morning. I could go on, but I’ll spare you…

Now let’s get real.

All of those things would take place everyday in a perfect world. One where there is no worry, birds chirp, sun shines, a cell phone battery is always at 100%, the pillow is always cold…you get it. This “perfect day” that I speak of happens MAYBE once a week. What keeps it from happening everyday? LIFE!! Spontaneity. Time with friends. TV marathons. Pizza/Cheesy bread/Monkey bread night! <–All of those happened last night.

Here’s the story: After an amazing day by the pool, Amelia and I had planned to go to Zumba. Neither of us really wanted to go, but neither said a thing. We got ready and drove to The Studio. Then the best thing ever happened! We realized that it was a different instructor and neither of us wanted to waste a class with an instructor that we didn’t know. Horrible, but it’s the truth. Then we did something we’d never done before, snuck out and left. It was like a covert mission. Hilarious! We headed back to Amelia’s apartment, had a snack then decided to order pizza delivery and watch a movie. It was awesome. We laughed, gossiped, ate a lot, then ate some more. I got home around midnight, showered and quickly rolled into bed.

Fast forward to today. I’m exhausted, swollen from all the salt, haven’t worked up the energy to workout and I don’t want to eat anything because I ate enough calories last night for days. Would I change a thing? MAYBE I wouldn’t have eaten so much cheesy bread, but this is the balance that makes my life awesome. It’s all about moderation, right? So, to combat everything from yesterday, I plan to eat very healthy, sneak in 2 workouts (cardio/weights and yoga) and lay low for the day and enjoy the thunderstorms that are about to hit here.

I hope you’re having a great day!

K

 

Do you have favorite instructors for certain fitness classes? 

Leave a Reply

