What I’m eating: “Paleo” Veggie Lasagna

Hey y’all!

Last week I decided that in order to save money (and calories), I should cook one large meal to eat on for a few days. I actually love doing this because (1) I love leftovers (2) it takes the guesswork out of dinner for the rest of the week (3) cuts down on the temptation of stopping for food somewhere else. I really hate the idea of fast food, so it makes my life a bit easier. It takes a little more willpower to turn down Chick-Fil-A when you know you have to go home and prepare a meal.

Sounds great, right? Right.

Then starts the game of trying to find something that will be nutritious, filling and great as a leftover. Anytime I’m looking to fit this criteria, I start with a tomato sauce base. I know you have to agree that spaghetti is one of those things that only gets better in the fridge! These days, anytime I’m looking for a recipe, I find my way to the “Food and Drink” page on Pinterest. Never lets me down. I came across this “Paleasagna” and knew that I couldn’t go wrong. While it is not COMPLETELY paleo, it is very close and therefore very healthy!

Nutritious: check!

Filling: check!

Delicious leftover: check!

I was so excited to try this. So, without anymore rambling, here we go…

VEGGIE LASAGNA (adapted from What Runs Lori)

  • 2 white or yellow onions, chopped how you prefer
  • 1 lb. of ground turkey
  • 2 15 oz. cans of diced tomatoes
  • 3 tbsp. tomato paste
  • 4 cloves of garlic, fresh
  • 2-3 zucchini, cut into medallions
  • 2-3 yellow squash, cut into medallions
  • 1 cup Italian cheese blend
  • 2 cups Greek Yogurt, plain
  • 1 head of broccoli, cut up
  • 1 egg
  • Italian spice blend, salt, pepper, red pepper flakes
  • Olive oil

In a large saute pan, heat about 1 tbsp of olive oil and add the onions. Cook until slightly translucent and add the turkey, diced tomatoes, tomato paste and garlic. Season to taste with S & P, red pepper flakes and Italian blend. Cook until turkey is completely cooked through.

Image

I cooked this for a while to get most of the liquid out and because I left the onions pretty large. I could have stopped at this point and just ate this mixture as a meal! It smelled SO good.

Cut up your zucchini, squash and broccoli.

In a separate bowl, mix broccoli, yogurt, egg and about 1/2 of the cheese.

Image

Heat oven to 375* and grease a 9×13 glass baking dish. Begin to layer the “lasagna” starting with the rounds of zucchini and squash, then the turkey tomato mix and finally the yogurt mix.

Image

I did 3 layers before running out of ingredients. How good does this look?

Top the entire thing with the rest of the cheese, about a 1/2 cup. (or however much you see fit)

Image

Throw this baby into the oven for about an hour and then, voila…

Image

Let this sit for about 10 minutes and then get ready for it to knock your socks off!

Image

Loaded with veggies and best of all, flavor!! I had it with a side of roasted sweet potatoes.

While I don’t know the exact nutritional values of this, I estimated it at about 1,500 calories for the ENTIRE DISH! Cut into 8 servings, that’s about 187 calories/serving. Dessert anyone?

Please let me know if anyone decides to make this recipe!

I hope you all have a great day,

K

Do you enjoy leftovers?

Can you eat the same meal a few days in a row?

I am a true creature of habit, so eating the same thing is comforting to me. I’ve eaten the same breakfast for about 6 months now and I still look forward to it every morning!

Leave a Reply

