What I’m wearing: Olé Caliente

Does anyone know if they have meetings for people who might be addicted to nail polish? If so, I’m pretty sure that there is a reserved chair just waiting for me.

Confession: I have consistently had polish on my nails for years now. I’ve maybe gone a day or two au naturale, but never longer than that. In fact, since high school I’ve had either acrylic (yeah, i did it, ugh), normal polish or shellac polish. I stress out way too much when it comes time to chose a color. I worry about the season. I worry about what I may be doing or where I’ll go in that color. I should stop before you realize just how crazy I might be…

Well, in the years that I have been in love with polish, I could never polish my own nails. No matter what I did, they never looked good! Rewind to about 6 months ago. I received a sample of a GOOD brand of polish and tried it out…it changed my life! Lesson learned after 25 years: spend extra on polish, save money on manicures! There is a huge difference between drug store brand polish and professional brands. The professional brands go on smoother, don’t chip as quickly and are highly pigmented. Also, get a good top coat!

So recently, I’ve been obsessed with buying my own polish to have on hand, which brings me to today’s post. I’ve been looking for a fun summer coral-ish red that would look good on hands and toes and look good with a tan. Then I found this…

Image

It’s called Olé Caliente, obviously by Essie. I used 2 coats of this color and an OPI top coat. Please excuse my dry cuticles.

This picture is showing it a little redder than it truly is. Essie says that this color is “a red-orange with a pink undertone.” I think it would look good on just about any skin color, but looks best with short nails. I love it so much and I’ve gotten many compliments on it. Score!

K

Would you/do you polish your own nails?

2 thoughts on “What I’m wearing: Olé Caliente

  1. I’m obsessed with this color right now! Found it at Target a few weeks ago and haven’t changed since. So fun and bright for summer, and you’re right, it looks GREAT with a tan 🙂

Leave a Reply

